Australian Maritime College

The Australian Maritime College (AMC) is a tertiary education institution based in Launceston, Tasmania, established by the Maritime College Act 1978 (Cth). Tertiary education is provided and organised by the University of Tasmania (UTAS) as the Australian Maritime College at the University of Tasmania (AMC@UTAS).[2][3] However the college’s educational curriculum is governed by the independent AMC Board.[4] The AMC is Australia’s national centre for maritime education, training and research. It has two campuses located within 50 kilometres (31 mi) of each other in Northern Tasmania, each with different facilities and residence.

AMC comprises two national centres that offer courses in maritime engineering, marine environment, maritime logistics and seafaring. The national centres are:

  • The National Centre for Maritime Engineering and Hydrodynamics
  • The National Centre for Ports and Shipping

AMC also has a commercial arm, AMC Search Ltd, that provides maritime related training and consultancy for a wide range of international and Australian organisations and individuals including the Federal Government Pacific Patrol Boat Program.