The University of Nottingham is a public research university in Nottingham, United Kingdom. It was founded as University College Nottingham in 1881, and was granted a royal charter in 1948. The University of Nottingham belongs to the elite research intensive Russell Group association.

Nottingham’s main campus (University Park) with Jubilee Campus and teaching hospital (Queen’s Medical Centre) are located within the City of Nottingham, with a number of smaller campuses and sites elsewhere in Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire. Outside the UK, the university has campuses in Semenyih, Malaysia, and Ningbo, China. Nottingham is organised into five constituent faculties, within which there are more than 50 schools, departments, institutes and research centres. Nottingham has about 45,500 students and 7,000 staff, and had an income of £694 million in 2020–21, of which £114.9 million was from research grants and contracts. The institution’s alumni have been awarded 3 Nobel Prizes, a Fields Medal, a Turner Prize, and a Gabor Medal and Prize. The university is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities, the European University Association, the Russell Group, Universitas 21, Universities UK, the Virgo Consortium, and participates in the Sutton Trust Summer School programme as a member of the Sutton 30.

Faculties and departments

The university is made up of a number of schools and departments organised into five faculties:[27] Arts, Engineering, Medicine and Health Sciences, Science, and Social Science. Each faculty encompasses a number of schools and departments.

Faculty of Humanities
  • American and Canadian Studies
  • Classics and Archaeology
  • Culture, Film and Media
  • Cultures, Languages and Area Studies
  • English
  • French and Francophone Studies
  • German Studies
  • History
  • History of Art
  • Humanities
  • Language Centre
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Russian and Slavonic Studies
  • Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies
  • Theology and Religious Studies
Faculty of Engineering
  • Architecture and Built Environment
  • Chemical and Environmental Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Foundation Engineering and Physical Sciences
  • Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • Mechanical, Materials and Manufacturing Engineering
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
  • Health Sciences
  • Life Sciences
  • Medicine
  • Veterinary Medicine and Science
Faculty of Science
  • Biosciences
  • Plant Science
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Mathematical Sciences
  • Pharmacy
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Psychology
Faculty of Social Sciences