The University of Winchester is a public research university based in the city of Winchester, Hampshire, England. The university has origins tracing back to 1840,[2] but was established in 2005.

Winchester University is a member of The Cathedrals Group (officially the Council of Church Universities and Colleges or CCUC), an association of universities and university colleges in the United Kingdom.

Every year the university holds its graduation ceremonies in Winchester Cathedral.[3]

Graduates of the University of Winchester may use the post-nominals Winton., from the Latin Wintoniensis meaning ‘of Winchester’.

Winchester’s academic structure consists of four faculties and a Degree Apprenticeship Programme, each home to teaching and learning in a wide-ranging variety of subject areas such as:

Faculty of Arts

  • American Studies
  • Choreography and Dance
  • Creative Writing
  • Drama
  • English Literature
  • English Language Studies
  • Film Production
  • Film
  • Linguistics
  • Media and Communication
  • Musical Theatre
  • Performing Arts

Faculty of Business, Law and Digital Technologies

  • Accounting and Finance
  • Economics
  • Mathematics
  • Law Studies
  • Digital Technologies
  • Winchester Business School

Faculty of Health and Wellbeing

  • Education Studies
  • Health and Community Studies
  • Inter-Professional Studies
  • Modern Liberal Arts
  • Postgraduate Studies in Medical Education
  • Social Work
  • Undergraduate Initial Teacher Training
  • Physiotherapy

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Anthropology
  • Archaeology
  • Classical Studies
  • Criminology
  • Forensic Studies
  • Geography
  • History
  • Politics and Global Studies
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • Theology, Religion and Philosophy

Degree apprenticeships

  • Business Management for Information Technology
  • Computer Aided Design
  • Computer Science
  • Computer Systems & Networks
  • Cyber Security Technology
  • Digital Technology Solutions & Data Analytics
  • Information Security