The University of Arkansas (U of AUArk, or UA) is a public land-grant research university in Fayetteville, Arkansas.[7] It is the flagship[8] campus of the University of Arkansas System and the largest university in Arkansas. Founded as Arkansas Industrial University in 1871, classes were first held on January 22, 1872, with its present name adopted in 1899. It is noted for its strong programs in architectureagriculture (particularly animal science and poultry science),[9] communication disorders, creative writing, history, law (particularly agricultural law),[10] and Middle Eastern studies,[11] as well as for its business school, of which the supply chain management program was ranked the best in North America by Gartner in July 2020.[12] In a 2021 study compiled by DegreeChoices and published by Forbes, the University of Arkansas ranked 13th among universities with the most graduates working at top Fortune 500 companies.[13]

The university campus consists of 378 buildings spread across 512 acres (2.07 km2) of land in Fayetteville, Arkansas. Some well known architecture on campus includes Old Main, the first permanent academic building erected. Academic programs are in excess of 200.[14] Enrollment for the fall semester of 2019 was 27,559.[15] The ratio of students to faculty is approximately 19:1. The university is classified among “R1: Doctoral Universities – Very high research activity” and totaled expenditures of $175.5 million in FY 2018.[16][17][18]

UA’s athletic teams, the Arkansas Razorbacks, compete in NCAA Division I as members of the Southeastern Conference (SEC) with eight men’s teams and eleven women’s teams in thirteen sports. The university is known for its traditions, including Calling the Hogs at sports events, and the Senior Walk, more than 4 miles (6.4 km)[15] of campus sidewalk etched with the names of all UA graduates since 1871. The University of Arkansas is also known for being the home of the founding chapter of Chi Omega sorority.