University of Technology Sydney

The University of Technology Sydney (UTS) is a public research university located in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Although its origins are said to trace back to the 1870s, the university was founded in its current form in 1988. As of 2021, UTS enrols 45,221 students through its 9 faculties and schools.

The university is regarded as one of the world’s leading young universities (under 50 years old), ranked 1st in Australia and 11th in the world by the 2021 QS World University Rankings Young Universities.

UTS is a founding member of the Australian Technology Network, and is a member of Universities Australia and the Worldwide Universities Network.

Faculties and schools

The university consists of nine faculties and schools:

Other entities

In addition to the faculties, there are a number other units falling under the Provost and Senior Vice-President’s division, within the remit of the Vice-Chancellor and President. As of 2021, these comprise three administrative units (Planning and Quality Unit, UTS Internal Audit and Chief Data Officer), as well as the:

  • Centre for Social Justice and Inclusion.
  • Jumbunna Institute for Indigenous Education and Research (formerly Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning).

The Graduate Research School, Institute for Public Policy and Governance, and the Institute for Sustainable Futures fall under the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Research), a number of units relating to international students are governed by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (International), and many other administrative units exist under similar divisions under the Vice-Chancellor and President.


The UTS Academic Board is the principal advisory body to the UTS Council on academic matters.

The Academic Board is concerned with policy development as it relates to the University’s academic programs in education, scholarship and research, and community service. It refers to policy recommendations to Council and discusses matters referred to it by Council.

Academic Board plays a key role in the UTS community in providing a forum for the discussion and debate of the academic directions of the University as well as the quality of its academic programs. The Board consists of academic staff members as well as student members elected for a general period of 1–2 years.

List of Chancellors
List of Vice-Chancellors
  • RD Guthrie (1988—1996)
  • AJD Blake (1996—2002)
  • RE Milbourne (2002—2014)
  • Attila Brungs (2014—2021)
  • Andrew Parfitt (2021—present)